What do YOU see?

ChristinaDiaz_ChainedSmiley

What do YOU see in this image?

Looking at the picture above, what do you see? Shades of grey? Rectangles and with squares in them? Cold hard chain and padlocks? Texture- metal, grass and brick?

As Ryan and I walked around the Long Beach City College campus, I wandered out to the side walk. I glanced back at the building we had just passed, and there it was- staring right back at me. A smiley face! A very big grinning smiley, I might add. I chuckled with delight as I pointed it out to Ryan.

I’m always filled with doubt in the instant (or 1/1000th of a second in this case) that the viewfinder goes black as the mirror flips up to expose the film beneath. Did I get it? Was it in focus? Is it exposed right? Is my film even advancing? Did I put the film in right? Are dinosaurs still alive in cavernous caves that lead to the center of the Earth where a Utopian society thrives on love alone!?!?

But I digress. When I’m looking around, sometimes something will catch my eye, and I’ll immediately see in my head how I want to take the shot. Most of the time it actually comes come out how I envisioned! (Surprisingly.) And this was one of those times. :)

I hope this made you smile too.

-Christina

About Christina Amparano

I like to find beauty and art in the everyday. Everything deserves to be viewed from a unique perspective– referring to life, clothes, people, places or anything. Finding the unique and special in the boring and plain is what I’m all about! I’ve been in love with photography for about seven years. What I love about it is its combination of problem solving and cause and effect. The way you move the subject in correlation to the light can have a vastly different outcome. I really find a joy with working with colors and light. As much as color can give a connotation of mood, lighting can do just as much. Dynamic lighting can add a lot to an image and finding that right combination is what excites me! Follow me on Twitter: @CAmparano
This entry was posted in Black & White, Conversation, Fine Art, Perspective, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What do YOU see?

  1. slurryer says:

    Awesome capture, delivered in an equally awesome commentary! Nice

  2. Tart says:

    That is awesome. I didn’t even notice the smiley face in it until you pointed it out, though I did like the textures in the shot before I read the commentary.

Leave a comment