Me, Myself and My Camera

Christina Diaz- Self-Portrait 2011

Oh hey look! It

To be completely blunt, I’m usually very hard on myself. It’s a challenge to give myself praise on pretty much anything I do. Therefore, doing self portraits are extremely difficult for me. It just never turns out well and I end up getting frustrated with myself.

In my Black & White Photography class, we were sent out onto campus to complete our assignment. Our goal was to shoot with an interesting angle or perspective. We were even instructed to try shooting with objects obstructing our view. Throughout our trek for unique images, I was laying on the ground, up on my tippy-toes, crouching, and I nearly fell over a few times.

Near the end of my roll, Ryan and I took an elevator. I made a joke about making out on the short ride and looked around the tiny reflective room. I noticed I could see my reflection remarkably clearly in the ceiling. I pointed it out to Ryan, but he wasn’t interested in the concept. So, I jumped on the opportunity. I quickly set my camera and took aim looking straight up.

The photograph below is the result. I’m overjoyed with the outcome. I’ve never taken a photo of myself that I honestly like (even the crappy bathroom mirror stuff that all girls do). Yeah, you can’t see my face, but I believe it shows a LOT of my personality. :)

About Christina Amparano

I like to find beauty and art in the everyday. Everything deserves to be viewed from a unique perspective– referring to life, clothes, people, places or anything. Finding the unique and special in the boring and plain is what I’m all about! I’ve been in love with photography for about seven years. What I love about it is its combination of problem solving and cause and effect. The way you move the subject in correlation to the light can have a vastly different outcome. I really find a joy with working with colors and light. As much as color can give a connotation of mood, lighting can do just as much. Dynamic lighting can add a lot to an image and finding that right combination is what excites me! Follow me on Twitter: @CAmparano
This entry was posted in Change, Photography, Self-Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me, Myself and My Camera

  1. Tart says:

    I love that it also looks like you have cat ears. Which is also appropriate.

Leave a comment